About Me

My name is Jennifer.

12 December (50)

You can find me in myriad forms on this website, but also:

instagram

twitter

ravelry, and

pinterest.

I live in Lubbock, Texas with my 2 year old son, Carl Henry:

3 March 027

My one year old, Jack Augustus:

April 4.2 043

My super handy husband, Brandon:

1 January (3)

And a cat, named Tonks. But we call her Boogey.

1 January (91)

In the last year, we bought a house in this windy city and decided to lay down some roots. Literal roots. We’re trying our hands at urban homesteading, and along the way we manage to cloth diaper, read, write, knit, herd children, and watch Youtube videos on home remodeling and backyard farming.

I haven’t always been a Texan, and I didn’t try to get here as fast as I could. I grew up in lots of places, but most notably, Milledgeville; home to Flannery O’Connor and the Antebellum (meaning Civil War and before, y’all) capital of Georgia, where I learned how to be quiet about things the Milledgeville Garden Club wouldn’t want to hear of: birthing, climate change, and poop. Then, I found the internet, where I’m allowed to talk about all of the above.

I was raised by my step-dad, who shared his love of England, reading, and conspiracy theories with my sister and I from a young age. My mother, after 19 memorable living arrangements of her own before age 40, taught me how to move like a pro, and now hoards antique furniture in a large home we remodeled during my high school years.

I spent some time being fat, and falling in love with emotionally unavailable boys throughout high school and college. At twenty, I ran away to England for six months, where I learned to knit, and that England is cold. After college, I spent some time daydreaming and shuffling paperwork across an attorney’s desk, while I waited to go to graduate school.

Prior to becoming a mom, I worked as a social worker. Initially, I focused on domestic violence and sexual assault in a groundbreaking shelter in Austin. I kept that up for a year, but found it hard to live on a salary only a few dollars above the poverty line in the live music capital of the world while paying off an exorbitantly expensive graduate degree. (Oh, debt.) I moved to Lubbock to be closer to my boyfriend, now husband, and ran in, and immediately out, of Child Protective Services work for the state. I soon followed that with time at an adoption agency, which taught me a lot about the importance of birth control. We eventually made our way to Tyler, Texas, just east of Dallas, where I spent my days telling people in a hospital how to fix their lives in 15 minutes or less. When our first son, Carl, arrived, I realized how overrated a second income was and started dreaming of stay-at-home-momdom. We returned to Lubbock, where we had another boy, Jack, and bought a house.

With so many males in one place, let me tell you, there is no shortage of poop and mucus in this house. My mom tells me one day this place will stop smelling like poop, and start smelling like dank socks. Oh the joy.

A blog exists recording my personal life and adventures prior to parenthood. You can find it here: http://xtremecardigan.blogspot.com

Prickly Pear Mama(PPM)